Vet Clinics Are Overwhelmed. An AI Operations Business They'll Pay For

AI operations for vet clinics: 30-40% of DVMs report high burnout, and Lupa and Digitail raised $20M and $23M to automate admin.

By Sidhant Tamrakar · · 5 min read

Vet clinics are short on staff time, and AI operations software now has real investment behind it. Digitail raised $23 million in January 2026, and Lupa raised a $20 million Series A in October 2025. A small firm can sell into this demand by setting up, configuring and supporting these tools for clinics, not by building software.

Why are vet clinics overwhelmed?

Burnout is common across the profession. According to CoVet, citing the 2023 Merck Animal Health study, 30-40% of DVMs report high levels of burnout. The same article reports that 61% of veterinarians reported higher exhaustion than the general U.S. population (32%), and that 70% of vet technicians experience burnout, citing the NAVTA survey.

Relief veterinarians are under pressure too. DVM360 reported in April 2026 that burnout among relief veterinarians reached its highest level on record in 2025, 25% higher than in 2022.

The workload is growing as well. Pet ownership rose 36% during the COVID-19 pandemic, according to BiopharmaTrend. Clinics have more patients, more calls and more paperwork, with the same number of people to handle them. That gap is what AI operations vendors sell into.

Which companies already sell AI operations to vet clinics?

Three companies in this research have reported funding for AI-enabled clinic software. The table compares the latest round reported for each.

CompanyProductLatest round in sourcesDateLead investor
LupaAI-powered operating system for clinics$20M Series A2 October 2025Singular
VetspireAI operating system for veterinary practicesVenture round, amount not disclosed14 August 2026Not stated (Battery Ventures invested)
DigitailVeterinary practice management software with AI$23M Series BJanuary 2026Five Elms Capital

Lupa is London-based, according to BiopharmaTrend. It raised a $4 million seed round in January 2025 from firstminute capital, 2100 Ventures and Exor Ventures. Its $20 million Series A, led by Singular, brought total capital to $25 million. The company says its platform replaces more than seven fragmented point solutions. Startupmag reports that Lupa has an exclusive partnership with Vetsure, connecting it with over 1,200 member clinics.

Vetspire describes itself as an AI operating system for veterinary practices. SaasRise reports that Battery Ventures invested in a venture round announced on 14 August 2026. Neither the amount nor the valuation was disclosed.

Digitail raised US$23 million in Series B funding in January 2026, led by Five Elms Capital, according to Vet Times. Total investment is more than $37 million. The company says it supports around 10,000 vets and 3 million pet owners.

Which AI operations tasks can a small firm sell?

Lupa's product shows the task list clinics are buying. Its AI-enabled receptionist handles inbound calls and scheduling, and its mobile app for pet owners supports appointment booking, secure messaging, payments and a digital pet-health passport. Scribing is the second task.

Pick one task a clinic already pays staff to do. Phone answering, appointment booking and note writing are the simplest. The buyer logic is the same as in the receptionist resale model and the dental office AI business: the owner wants fewer missed calls and less admin, and will pay a monthly fee to get them.

What can a small firm copy from the funded companies?

Funded companies spend their money on building a platform and reaching clinics. Lupa's partnership with Vetsure is a distribution strategy: one partner brings a network of clinics at once. A small firm can copy the pattern with one channel, such as a regional consultant, a practice-management reseller or a local association that already talks to clinic owners.

Funded platformSmall firm
ProductBuilds and maintains the platformConfigures and supports existing tools
DistributionPartnerships with groups of clinicsOne channel you can work every week
ProofCompany-reported resultsResults you measure in your own clinics
RevenueSoftware subscriptions at scaleSetup fees plus a monthly service fee

The company-reported results matter. New Market Pitch reports that Lupa says clinics save about an hour of veterinarian time per day after rollout. That is one source repeating a company claim, so measure the time in your own pilot before you quote it.

How do you start selling to a vet clinic?

  1. Choose one task: phone answering, booking or note writing.
  2. Pick one channel and list ten clinic managers or practice owners you can reach through it.
  3. Ask each clinic which task costs the most staff time each week. Write down their answer in their words.
  4. Pick one AI tool that handles that task. Check its current pricing page before you quote a clinic.
  5. Offer a 30-day pilot with a fixed setup fee and a clear list of what you will measure, such as calls answered or notes completed.
  6. Measure the time saved before the pilot ends. Keep the same measurement method in every clinic.
  7. Write a one-page summary of the results. Use it as your sales sheet for the next clinic.
  8. Add a monthly service fee only after the first pilots show the task stayed off the staff's list.

Where does this model break?

The funded companies sell to the same clinics you would target. A clinic can buy a platform directly and skip your service, so do not compete on software. Sell setup, configuration and support for a tool the clinic has already chosen.

Vendor outcome claims are self-reported. Lupa's one-hour figure and its 1,200-clinic partnership come from the company. Treat them as sales context, not as proof you can repeat.

The category is also concentrated in a few funded names. Large veterinary groups have more resources to build AI in-house, so your easiest clients are independent clinics that have no technology team.

What's still unclear?

  • Vetspire's round size is not disclosed in the sources.
  • Lupa is London-based. The sources give no US customer count, so its clinic numbers may not transfer to US practices.
  • No source gives total US market size, reseller margins or the cost of acquiring a clinic customer.

Frequently asked questions

Is AI operations for vet clinics a large enough market for a small firm?

Funded companies are selling AI operations software to clinics, and burnout data points to strong demand. The sources in this research give no total market size and no reseller margins, so a small firm should test demand in one metro before expanding. Start with one task, such as phone answering or note writing, and measure the result in three to five clinics before you commit to a monthly service package.

How many veterinarians report burnout?

CoVet, citing the 2023 Merck Animal Health study, reports that 30-40% of DVMs report high levels of burnout. The same article reports that 61% of veterinarians reported higher exhaustion than the general U.S. population (32%). It also reports that 70% of vet technicians experience burnout, citing the NAVTA survey.

Does Lupa operate in the United States?

The sources describe Lupa as London-based, and they do not give a count of US clinic customers. Its funding and its claim of more than 1,200 partner clinics show that investors back this category, but they are not evidence of US adoption.

Sources

  1. Burnout among relief veterinarians grew by 25%: Is the system keeping up?, DVM360 (2026-04-23)
  2. Veterinary burnout statistics, CoVet (2026-06-05)
  3. Lupa raises $4M to modernize veterinary care with AI, BiopharmaTrend (2025-01-16)
  4. Battery Ventures backs vet practices AI operating system, SaasRise (2026-08-14)
  5. Lupa raises $20M to launch veterinary AI lab and drive global expansion, The Top Voices (2025-10-06)
  6. Lupa raises $20m for AI-powered OS to transform global petcare market, Tech.eu (2025-10-02)
  7. Lupa raised 3,300,000, Startupmag (2025-01-16)
  8. Pet tech funding analysis, New Market Pitch (2026-09-22)
  9. Digitail announces US$23m investment funding, Vet Times (2026-01-14)